The 37th BMA Awards honoured eminent individuals from Indian corporate

Thursday 21st Apr, 2016

BMA hosted its signature event, The 37th BMA Awards Ceremony successfully on Thursday, 21st April, 2016 at the Y.B. Chavan Centre, Gen. Jagannath Bhosale Marg, Near Sachivalaya, Nariman Point, Mumbai 400 021.

The prestigious 37th BMA Annual Awards Ceremony recognized and honoured eminent individuals from the Indian corporate world, with the BMA Awards among various categories as mentioned below for their outstanding contribution to the Indian economy.

Honorable Union Minister of Railways, Mr. Suresh Prabhu was presented with the first ever “BMA Change Catalyst of the Year Award 2015”.  Subsequently he proudly presented the BMA Awards and felicitated the recipients for the evening.

The proud recipients of the BMA Awards for the year 2014-15 were as follows:

BMA Change Catalyst of the Year Mr. Suresh Prabhu

Honorable Union Minister of Railways

Government of India.

BMA Life Time Achievement Mr. Rahul Bajaj

Chairman, Bajaj Auto Limited.

BMA Management Man of the Year Mr. Keki Mistry

Vice Chairman & CEO, HDFC Limited.

BMA Management Woman Achiever of the Year Ms. Renuka Ramnath

Founder, MD & CEO, Multiples.

BMA Entrepreneur of the Year Mr.  Bhavish Aggarwal

Founder and CEO, OLA Cabs


Mr. Ankit Bhati

Co-Founder & CTO, OLA Cabs.

BMA Best Management Institute SIES College of Management Studies (SIESCOMS)
BMA Best Management Teacher Dr. Sreeram R.Gopalkrishnan of Atharva (AIMS)
BMA Best Management Student Ms. Sonal Raghuveer Lohiya of Durgadevi Saraf (DSIMS)

Mr. Suresh Prabhu thanked BMA for honouring him with the “BMA Change Catalyst of the Year Award 2015”. He gave an inspiring speech emphasising upon great opportunities ahead for India and how the World is looking at India to pull it out from the economic slowdown. He elaborated on a slew of Government initiatives for the socio-economic upliftment of India and emphasised the need for high quality managers and better management practices that are needed, to manage the abundant opportunities that lie ahead of us. Mr. Prabhu also complimented each and every one of the awardees and highlighted some unique contributions and impact made by each one of them.

Mr. Rahul Bajaj, the Lifetime Achievement Awardee in his acceptance speech spoke about his journey in Bajaj Auto since 1968 and the transitions he has seen over the years. He emphasised the need for probity in public life, adherence to values and contributing to nation building. He appreciated the numerous measures taken by the Modi Government to give a broad agenda for action on a wide variety of fronts.  Mr. Keki Mistry spoke about the tremendous growth the housing and construction sector has, given that around 65% of the Indian population is below the age of 35 years. He spoke of his own personal learnings and principles that was appreciated by the audience. Ms. Renuka Ramnath spoke of her own career progression as a woman executive in the corporate world and shared her success mantras. She spoke of her journey in creating Multiples and scaling it up to managing a USD 1 Billion Private Equity Fund. She spoke touchingly about the role of her parents and children, both in giving her encouragement, and strength in achieving her own professional success. Mr. Bhavish Aggarwal shared his experiences in the start-up world and emphasised on the need to take risks and at the same time learn quickly from ones mistakes and move ahead. He said that Ola cabs aims to create a million entrepreneurs and thereby solve the transportation problems in India, while adding to India’s growth and prosperity.

The BMA Awards Ceremony was conducted by Mr. R. Ramakrishnan, Chairman of BMA Awards Committee and Vice – Chairman & JMD of Polycab group along with Mr. Suresh Mhatre, President of BMA. The BMA Jury comprised of Mr. K. K. Nohria formerly from CG, Mr. Shailesh Haribhakti of Haribhakti & Co, Mr. P. R. Ramesh of Deloitte, Ms. Kalpana Morparia of J P Morgan, Mr. Sunil Kaushal of Standard Chartered Bank, Mr. S. Hajara formerly from SCI, Mr. M. K. Chouhan of Asian Centre of Corporate Governance and Mr. Boman Irani of Keystone Realty.

The BMA Awards ceremony was followed by a panel discussion moderated by Mr. R. Ramakrishnan with Mr. Keki Mistry, Ms. Renuka Ramnath and Mr. S. Haribhakti on the Panel. The panel debated actively on the topic “India: The Next 3 years – Reigniting Growth”. The panelists discussed the macroeconomic situation, the impact of slowdown in China and Europe, the effect of the monsoon deficit in the last two years, the numerous positive initiatives of the Union government such as UID, Jan Dhan Yojana, Make in India, Digital India, Skilled India and unanimously felt that the Indian GDP is poised to grow beyond 8% over the next three years. Financial sector reforms, Social sector reforms, Labour reforms, Infrastructure investments, attracting greater FDI and FII investments and better Governance were discussed as important measures that can accelerate this growth further. The Panel expressed confidence that the NDA Government under the eminent leadership of Prime Minister Shri. Narendra Modi has drawn up an excellent blue print for action and that it needs to accelerate implementation at a fast pace. The panel also felt that the corporate sector should also feel optimistic and make capital investments in preparation for the significantly higher consumption that lies ahead.

The BMA Awards Ceremony ended with a vote of thanks from Ms. Nirmala Mehendale, Vice President, BMA.

View image gallery